The Wife Cooks Too

chops

My friends and my little boy like to tease my wife that she never cooks, but the truth is she is a fantastic cook. I actually learned to cook from my Mom, but it is my wife that helped to elevate my skills in the kitchen to a whole nother level. With children now and my tendency to lean towards making dinner as opposed to catering to screaming toddlers, the fact is she doesn’t cook quite as often as she used to. When she does though, it is always damn good!

When she told me the other day she was going to make something in the slow cooker I figured it was going to be the same-old-same pulled pork. She is from Dallas after all. So she about knocked my socks off when she said she was making Curried Pineapple Pork Chops. First, she has always said she doesn’t like curry that much and, second, it just sounded weird. Who is this woman and what did you do with my wife?

Personally, I never would have made this. It would require following a recipe which I am notorious for not doing. The joke in the house is I screw up simple Mac-N-Cheese because I don’t read the directions on the box, but I can scrape together a gourmet meal out of what is left in the fridge. Also, I wouldn’t have made it because, like I said, it just sounded weird. I am repeating this in case anyone else thinks it sounds weird and is thinking of wussing out. Don’t be afraid, it is actually very tasty.

My wife said she made it exactly as the recipe was written. It is a little light on the curry for my liking so I would spice it up a bit more, but it is perfect for my wife as she is still suspicious of curry. I did plate it up for her and added some fresh cilantro on it because I think cilantro makes everything better and, without it, it looked too monochromatic. I mean come on, if I am going to give you real estate on my blog, at least gussy it up a bit there Dallas girl!

Have to give credit where credit is due – the below recipe is from http://shrinkingkitchen.com/slow-cooker-curried-pineapple-pork-chops/trackback/ written in the words of the original author. The Wife says there are pretty good recipes on the site and that the author includes Weight Watchers points. Eat.Drink.Shrink is the tag line – think I am going to have to check it out.

Ingredients:

1 (20-ounce) can pineapple chunks in juice (not syrup) (I used fresh pineapple that I chopped in a food processor)

1/4 packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon cider vinegar

1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce

2 teaspoons curry powder (or less if you prefer)

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger (I used fresh)

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (less if you’re not crazy about spicy)

6 (7-ish ounce) boneless pork loin chops, trimmed of visible fat

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon water

2 teaspoons cornstarch

2 scallions, sliced thin

Method:

  1. Stir pineapple with juice, sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, curry powder, ginger, and red pepper flakes into slow cooker. Season pork chops with salt and pepper and nestle into slow cooker. Cover and cook until pork is tender, 6 to 8 hours on low or 3 to 5 hours on high. (Adjust time according to how your personal slow cooker heats. Mine runs hot, so I always reduce the time, especially on high).
  2. Remove the chops to a serving platter, cover and let rest for 10 minutes. Let liquid in slow cooker sit for 5 minutes, and then skim fat off the surface using a large spoon.
  3. Whisk water and cornstarch together in small bowl. Stir into slow cooker, cover, and cook on high for 5-10 minutes, or until sauce is thick. You can also remove the liquid to a small sauce pan and add the cornstarch mixture, but why get another pan dirty?!
  4. Stir in scallions, season with salt and pepper to taste (although you probably won’t need to).
  5. Serve chops with brown rice and sauce equally divided among the plates.
One comment

  1. Benjamin Wu · · Reply

    looks like she is more gifted than you

Leave a Reply

