Pizza Burger – Homework Part Deux

Pizza Burger

Souffake! It’s a pizza burger!

And another Souffake for trying to write a draft post on my mobile device and accidentally hitting publish! If you read the draft from your email inbox, rest assured, I did not have a stroke, I was not abducted by aliens, and, yes, I know better than to post a blog entry while enjoying some evening wine.

On to the topic at hand – If you read the previous entry about helping my son with his monthly project based homework, I wasn’t joking about the next project. This time it was to create your own version of a hamburger…I guess this is in honor of grilling season kicking off? Fine with me though, since the other options involved me having to read a children’s book and make a shadowbox.

So I was happy to do another cooking project with the kids, but a little skeptical when my son came up with the idea of creating a pizza burger. I figured if I was going to go down this road of making some weird concoction, I would at least try to learn how to make my own pizza dough. That, and it is not like anyone sells pizza burger buns either. So we set off to researching dough recipes and came up with the below version.

Luckily, it turned out that making the pizza burger buns was pretty much the only part the kids really wanted to help with anyways. What kid doesn’t want to help when there is dangerous equipment involved? Although, judging by how intensely she is looking at this mixer, I think the Princess Chef was thinking there would be chocolate involved again.

Kids Mixing

Prepping the yeast and mixing the dough got them in the baking mood, but they lost interest during the hour plus it took for the dough to rise. When it finally came time to roll out the dough though, they were back at it, fighting over whose turn it was to press out the next bun.

Kaden Pressing Dough

As for the burgers, I prepped these myself so I could hide the actual ingredients. I knew if they saw mushrooms, garlic, onions, and any seasoning they would freak out. After prepping the burgers and making dough from scratch, I was pretty lazy about the sauce and just used canned pizza sauce.

Pizza Burger

For the kids, we kept it pretty simple and just made them with cheese and sauce. For the adults, we went combo style and added pepperoni, peppered salami, olives, and artichoke hearts.

While I had my reservations about this little project, I have to admit these turned out pretty good. Props to my little boy for coming up with the idea. Obviously, he liked it as well!

Eating Pizza Burger

Recipe for Pizza Burger

Ingredients:

Pizza Dough-

1 Package of Yeast
1 Tsp Sugar
1 Cup of Warm Water
2-3 Cups of Flour
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tsp Salt

Hamburger-

1 Package of Ground Turkey Meat
1/4 Cup Diced Mushrooms
1/4 Cup Diced Onions
2 Cloves Garlic Pressed
1 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
2 Strips Of Bacon Lightly Fried (so it is not yet crispy) And Diced
Salt & Pepper

Pizza Sauce
Mozzerella Cheese
Pepperoni
Peppered Salami
Sliced Black Olives
Diced Artichoke Hearts
Anchovies (just kidding)

Method:

Pizza Dough:

Start by “proofing” the yeast – dissolve the yeast and sugar in the warm water, letting it sit for about 10 minutes as it rises. While it is rising, pour the remaining dough ingredients into a mixer equipped with the dough hook. After the 10 minutes is up, pour the yeast mixture into the blender and mix for 1 minute on the first setting. Then 2 minutes on the second setting or until the dough forms around the hook.

Remove the dough and set to rest in a bowl that has been greased with olive oil, turning dough at first to cover with the oil. Cover and rest for 1 hour. After 1 hour, I punched it down, turned it back into a ball, and then let rest again for about 30 minutes.

To make buns sized for the pizza burger, pull off about a donut holes worth of dough and then roll out to the size of a bun. I didn’t bother rolling, just smashed them to size with my hands. Let rest for 5 minutes and brush with olive oil. Pierce all over with a fork.

Bake at 450F for 18 minutes or until lightly browned.

Hamburgers (Technically, Turkey Burgers):

Sauté the onions, garlic, and mushrooms on low-med heat for 3 minutes. Add the diced bacon then sauté another minute. Allow this to cool then add to ground turkey in a mixing bowl. Mix in Italian Seasoning, Salt & Pepper. Form into patties and the grill like a normal turkey burger (about 10-15 minutes each side over direct heat, add the cheese towards last few minutes).

Prep the pepperoni, salami, olives, and artichoke hearts by arranging them on a foil covered cookie sheet. Place the cookie sheet in the oven during the last couple minutes that the dough is cooking. Remove after a couple minutes once the toppings actually look like pizza toppings. (When we do this again, I think I am going to add a big slice of tomato and some fresh basil.)

Putting It Together:

If you timed this right, the dough, toppings, and burgers should all finish about the same time. Make sure to also heat the pizza sauce in a sauce pan just when everything is finishing.

Take two pizza buns and top 1 side of each with pizza sauce. Place a burger on to the bottom bun, add a little more pizza sauce and then the rest of the toppings. Place the other bun on top of your burger and, voila, “itsa” pizza burger!

Leave a Reply

